Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Image

 

 

Lessons Learned From Heartbreak

Lesson 7: Heartbreak drains you. Not to mention your confidence is shattered, and your life feels like a jumbled mess. You want to regain control. You want to fix your stituation, but you have no idea how. If you are not crying all day, you are thinking about the same negative thoughts that bring you right back to where you started.

This was a hard time in my life. Especially since my mom had no idea why, or what I was going through. I was so desperate for help, but I had no idea where to get it. Normally, I would have gone out with friends for drinks, but this time was different. This time, something felt so final for me, I withdrew from all social contact. I just wanted to be alone. I sulked  in my little cocoon of self pity, for a good couple of months. I went a little crazy, and I still had no clue how to get better.

I searched for answers. I reached out to some people. Nothing helped me feel better. One thing that always helped me feel better was blogging. I decided to write about what I was going through and it was the first thing that helped me.  Each post, I grew a little stronger. Each comment I received gave me a smile. I  started to play piano again, and make music, it made me feel better about myself. I started school again, and it gave me confidence. I started to dress up again, and I felt pretty. I walked a little taller, and held my head a little higher.

Before I knew it, I was learning I had the power to make a change. I was moving step by step, and day by day I grew further from my heartache. Each day I was steps closer to my future, to the person I was meant to be.  All along I was searching outside for someone or something to make me feel better, but the answer was always within me. Take small steps to move yourself forward. Believe it or not, you have the power to make a change in yourself. 

