Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

Lately I feel like I am dating my Ipad. Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Etsy, and now blogging. In fact I am more likely to get your message if it comes through the internet than knocking on my door.

When I was living in Europe, I was completely the opposite. I was totally out of the social media loop. I had no internet, facebook, twitter, I didn’t even own a tv. Maybe I was being a rebellious artist, refusing to surrender to the modern world. I would check my email maybe once a week, and even considered a life without a cell phone. I felt free, and I enjoyed a life without distractions. I think this is one of the advantages of being an artist and living in your own world. I could completely absorb myself in the music and I had no idea what was going in the real world.

Now that I have returned home, and I am trying to figure out a way to support myself,and ways to start a business, there’s no denying the importance of social media. This is our society now and if you want a business you have to network. Even applying for an easy server job requires the knowledge of internet. I feel like Ive been zapped into the 21st century. It’s a different world here.

